Published on:

Some Seat Belt Laws You May Not Know

Our Jacksonville injury lawyers regularly meet with clients throughout Jacksonville, Orange Park, St. Augustine, Fernandina, and Callahan who were injured in automobile and truck accidents. Thankfully, their personal injuries have often been minimized by the use of a seat belt.

While we all likely know that drivers and passengers in the front seat must wear a seatbelt at all times, here are some more important facts regarding Florida’s laws:

All rear passengers under the age of 18 must wear a seatbelt.

Children ages 3 years and younger must be secured in a federally approved child restraint seat.

Children ages 4-5 years must be secured either by a seatbelt or a federally approved child restraint seat. This can include the use of a booster seat in conjunction with the vehicle seatbelt.

Drivers are legally responsible for ensuring that children in the vehicle are properly restrained.

If you have any questions about a car wreck ocurring in Florida, please contact our Jacksonville personal injury law firm.

Contact Information